Graphics API

Entry requirements: It is necessary to know and be able to use effectively one or more programming languages for writing computer programs. Ability to use the search engines to access the necessary information. English at the level of reading with a dictionary.

Credits: 4

Semester: 1

Course: Core

Language of the course: English

Objectives

Students will learn the shader programming languages, to understand the structure of the graphics conveyer, the architecture of modern GPUs, the boundaries of GPU applicability for general purpose computing, to create graphical applications, to transfer and adapt computing tasks to graphics processors. Students will acquire skills of debugging, profiling and optimizing graphics applications.

Contents

Discipline considers the architecture of modern graphic processors from NVidia and AMD, their computational model and memory model, as well as special hardware such as samplers and rasterizers. Studying the discipline students will gain knowledge and skills in working with modern graphical APIs, like Direct3D 11, 12 or Vulkan both for rendering visualization tasks and for general purpose computing tasks.

Format

Lectures and laboratory works.

Assessment

Attendance is mandatory. Students cannot miss more than one class.
The grade consists of: 50% weekly tests, 50% laboratory works.

Examination.

Прикладные интерфейсы программирования компьютерной графики

Входные требования: Необходимо знать и уметь эффективно применять один или несколько языков программирования для написания компьютерных программ. Пользоваться поисковыми системами для получения доступа к необходимой информации. Английский язык на уровне чтения со словарем.

Зачетные единицы: 4

Семестр: 1

Курс: Основной

Язык курса: Английский

Цели

Студенты изучат языки программирования шейдеров, понимать структуру графического конвейера, архитектуру современных GPU, границы применимости GPU для вычислений общего назначения. Студенты научатся создавать графические приложения, переносить и адаптировать вычислительные задачи под графические процессоры. Студенты получат навыки отладки, профилирования и оптимизации графических приложений.

Содержание

Дисциплина рассматривает архитектуру современных графических процессоров от NVidia и AMD, их модель вычислений и модель памяти, а также специальные аппаратные средства, такие как сэмплеры и растеризаторы. В ходе изучения дисциплины студенты получат знание и навыки работы с современными графическими API, как Direct3D 11, 12 или Vulkan как для решения задач визуализации, так и для задач вычислений общего назначения.

Формат

Лекции и лабораторные работы.

Оценка

Присутствие обязательно. Студенты не могут пропускать более двух занятий.

Оценка включает: 50% еженедельное тестирование; 50% выполнение лабораторных работ.

Экзамен.