Game Networking

Entry requirements: It is necessary to know and be able to use effectively one or more programming languages for writing computer programs. Ability to use the search engines to access the necessary information. English at the level of reading with a dictionary.

Credits: 4

Semester: 3

Course: Elective

Objectives

Students will learn: to understand the main tasks and problems that arise during the process of creating of multi-user gaming applications, the advantages, disadvantages and areas of application of the TCP and UDP protocols, to create applications that use client-server and peer-to-peer approaches to data transfer, to understand the principles of distributed state synchronization and network delay compensation. Students will acquire skills of analyzing network traffic, debugging, profiling and optimization.

Contents

Discipline considers main technical approaches to creating a distributed multiplayer game process. The discipline covers questions of the architecture of multi-user gaming applications, methods for distributed simulation of the game process, and methods for compensating for network delays. Also the subject considers methods of effective compression of game data.

Format

Lectures and laboratory works.

Assessment

Attendance is mandatory. Students cannot miss more than one class.
The grade consists of: 50% weekly tests, 50% laboratory works.

Examination.

Сетевые технологии

Входные требования: Необходимо знать и уметь эффективно применять один или несколько языков программирования для написания компьютерных программ. Пользоваться поисковыми системами для получения доступа к необходимой информации. Английский язык на уровне чтения со словарем.

Зачетные единицы: 4

Семестр: 3

Курс: По выбору

Язык курса: Русский

Цели

Студенты научатся понимать основные задачи и проблемы, возникающие при создании многопользовательских игровых приложений; преимущества, недостатки и области применений протоколов TCP и UDP; создавать приложения, использующие клиент-серверные и пиринговые подходы к организации передачи данных; понимать принципы распределенной синхронизации состояний и компенсации сетевых задержек. Студенты получат навыки анализа сетевого трафика, отладки, профилирования и оптимизации.

Содержание

Дисциплина рассматривает основные технические подходы к созданию распределенного многопользовательского игрового процесса. Дисциплина покрывает вопросы архитектуры многопользовательских игровых приложений, методы распределенного моделирования игрового процесса и методы компенсации сетевых задержек. Также предмет рассматривает методы эффективного сжатия игровых данных.

Формат

Лекции и лабораторные работы.

Оценка

Присутствие обязательно. Студенты не могут пропускать более двух занятий.

Оценка включает: 50% еженедельное тестирование; 50% выполнение лабораторных работ.

Экзамен.