Computer Graphics

Entry requirements: It is necessary to know and be able to use effectively one or more programming languages for writing computer programs. Ability to use the search engines to access the necessary information. English at the level of reading with a dictionary.

Credits: 4

Semester: 2

Course: Core

Language of the course: Russian

Objectives

Students will learn basic graphic modeling and rendering techniques used in modern computer games, the relationship between technical and artistic aspects of creating computer games, to create, combine and decompose various techniques of rendering, animation, illumination and shadow design. Students will acquire skills of debugging, profiling and optimization.

Contents

Discipline deals with basic graphic rendering techniques used in modern computer games. The discipline covers techniques of direct and delayed illumination design, tile and cluster modifications of these techniques, methods of construction of shadows, methods of animation and also volume effects. Discipline partially considers such branches of physics as photometry and the interaction of optical radiation with matter which is necessary for a deep understanding of the processes underlying the studied rendering techniques. Also, discipline considers techniques of achieving high aesthetic values ​​and artistic expressiveness through the studied rendering techniques.

Format

Lectures and laboratory works.

Assessment

Attendance is mandatory. Students cannot miss more than one class.
The grade consists of: 50% weekly tests, 50% laboratory works.

Credit.

Компьютерная графика

Входные требования: Необходимо знать и уметь эффективно применять один или несколько языков программирования для написания компьютерных программ. Пользоваться поисковыми системами для получения доступа к необходимой информации. Английский язык на уровне чтения со словарем.

Зачетные единицы: 4

Семестр: 2

Курс: Основной

Язык курса: Русский

Цели

Студенты изучат основные графические техники моделирования и рендеринга, используемые в современных компьютерных играх. Студенты научатся понимать взаимосвязь между техническими и художественными аспектами создания компьютерных игр создавать, комбинировать и декомпозировать различные техники рендеринга, анимации, расчета освещенности и построения теней. Студенты получат навыки отладки, профилирования и оптимизации.

Содержание

Дисциплина рассматривает основные графические техники рендеринга, используемые в современных компьютерных играх. Дисциплина покрывает техники прямого и отложенного расчета освещенности, плиточные и кластерные модификации этих техник, методы построения теней, методы анимации, а также объемных эффектов. Дисциплина частично затрагивает такие разделы физики как фотометрия и взаимодействие оптического излучения с веществом, что является необходимым для глубокого понимания процессов лежащих в основе изучаемых техник рендеринга. Также, дисциплина рассматривает приемы достижения высоких эстетических показателей и художественной выразительности посредством изучаемых техник рендеринга.

Формат

Лекции и лабораторные работы.

Оценка

Присутствие обязательно. Студенты не могут пропускать более двух занятий.

Оценка включает: 50% еженедельное тестирование; 50% выполнение лабораторных работ.

Зачет.