Evolutionary computing

Entry requirements: Basic knowledge of probability theory, optimization methods and combinatorial theory.

Credits: 5

Semester: 3

Course: Elective

Language of the course: English

Lecturer

A.G. Hoekstra

Objectives

Understand the basic principles and schemes of evolutionary algorithms (EA). Learn how to design and implement EA for various optimization problems. Get skills to tune and test EA. Examine parallel schemes of EA.

Contents

Evolutionary computing is a widely used optimization techniques. The main goal of the course is to familiarize students with basic concepts and principles of design of evolutionary algorithms (EA). The course includes theoretical basis, examination of the main components of EA and how to implemnent them. Further, the course considers methods of increasing the performance of algorithms and schemes for implementation of high-performance EA based on multiprocessor and distributed systems, as well as with the usage of GPU. During the course, students are involved not only in theoretical aspects, but also in demonstrations and analysis of real solved problems with the usage of evolutionary computing methods.

Classes carried out in the form of lectures with elements of the discussion, where such questions as: "when and which EA algorithm is better"; "for which problems EA can be applied?"; "Which set of parameters choose during implementation of EA?" can be discussed. The main practical assignment represents a development and implementation of EA for the typical optimization problem, where students' algorithms are compared with each other in a competitive way.

Format

Lectures, workshops and practice assignments

Assessment

Attendance is mandatory. Students cannot miss more than one class. Grading: personal qualities of the student 10%, practice assignment 50%, test 20%, exam 20%.

Эволюционные вычисления

Входные требования: Базовые знания теории вероятностей, методов оптимизации и комбинаторики.

Зачетные единицы: 5

Семестр: 3

Курс: По выбору

Язык курса: Английский

Цели

Понять основные принципы и схемы работы эволюционных алгоритмов (ЭА). Научиться проектировать и реализовывать ЭА для различных задач оптимизации. Получить навыки настройки и тестирования ЭА. Изучить параллельные схемы построения ЭА.

Содержание

Эволюционные вычисления являются широко распространёнными методами оптимизации. Целью курса является ознакомить студентов с основными принципами и способами построения эволюционных алгоритмов (ЭА). Курс включает в себя теоретические основы, разбор главных состовляющих ЭА и способах их реализации. Далее курс рассматривает методы повышения эффективности и схемы высокопроизводительных реализаций ЭА на основе мультипроцессорных и распределенных систем, а также с использованием графических процессоров. В ходе курса студентам представляются не только теоретические аспекты, но также и демонстрации с разбором примеров задач, решаемых с помощью ЭА.

Большая часть занятий проводится в форме лекций с элементами дискуссии, где обсуждаются такие вопросы как: "в каких случаях и какой ЭА алгоритм лучше?", "для каких задач следует, а для каких не следует строить ЭА?", "какой набор параметров следует выбрать при реализации ЭА?". Основное практическое задание представляет из себя реализацию ЭА для типовой задачи оптимизации,где реализованные алгоритмы студентов сравниваются между собой в соревновательной форме.

Формат

Лекции, семинары и практические задания.

Оценка

Присутствие явлется обязательным. Студенты не могут пропускать более одного занятия. Оценка: личностные качества студента 10%, индивидуальные задания 50%, письменное тестирование 20%, экзамен 20%.